Carmen Zapata

Angry Jellow Bubbles

Deaf West Theatre

L.A. Women’s Theatre Festival

Ruskin Group Theatre

Adilah Barnes

Michelle Mania

Kaz Matumoro

Marianne Murphy

Terri Roberts

Evelyn Rudie

Sheila Scott-Wilkinson

The LOS ANGELES WOMEN'S THEATRE FESTIVAL was founded in 1993 by Adilah Barnes and Miriam Reed. Through art, it contributes to the well-being of the greater Los Angeles community by providing arts programming that includes original works by multicultural women solo artists that entertain, illuminate and mirror.
Performers have included award-winning Jude Narita and Edie McClurg. Diverse themes have embraced such topics as love, rape, family, homophobia, folklore and racism.
In 1995, the Festival established its Annual Theatre Awards (Eternity, Integrity, Maverick and Rainbow). It has bestowed these prestigious awards on deserving women such as the late Beah Richards and Beulah Quo, Carmen Zapata, Charlayne Woodard and Lee Meriwether.
Through its Wisdom Wednesdays outreach educational programming, it develops and produces new works that empower solo artists and their livelihood by creating their own vehicles. Through its after school Arts Education Program, it unlocks creativity, increases self-esteem and combats violence in youth. The Festival partners with both Creative Kids and Enrichment Works to reach youth in schools. The Festival also produces a star-studded Annual Mother's Day musical event, "Melodies in Motion" that celebrates motherhood.
Performers have included Freda Payne, Dawnn Lewis and Tata Vega. In 2002, the Festival crossed media by creating a public access television show, "Los Angeles Women's Theatre Festival: On The Air!," hosted by Marla Gibbs, that has reached thousands of Los Angeles audiences and now that it is streamed on the internet, reaches countless audiences around the globe. The Festival’s Honorary Chairpersons are Danny Glover and Hattie Winston.